Comfortable Places

It’s hot already and not even 8 a.m., 77 degrees F.  I’m enjoying the outside before it becomes unbearable.

Part of the reason I moved where I live now is it felt like the town I grew up in.  You know how a place can feel sometimes – comfortable.  Not the city or the people, but the land.  It feels welcoming.  My dad was always good at finding places like this.
I used to go for walks with my dad up north in the woods.  He knew the name of every tree.  I learned some of their names.  The most important thing he taught me was to love and appreciate nature.  We would go fishing too, I never caught anything but it was wonderful to be on the water in the early morning listening to the world wake up.
Sometimes I long for those places.  The calm friendliness of a lake or woods.  In those places I can be completely open.  Whatever sadness or trouble is not so heavy and if there is only happiness it is multiplied because there is no need to cover it up.  Trees and lakes don’t care, they are only filled with calm joy.

There is a crabapple tree that grows in my neighbor’s yard.  It branches reach over into my patio and provide welcome shade.  I just love this tree.  Sadly it is coming to the end of it’s life.  It contracted a disease a few years ago.  My neighbor said she couldn’t figure out what was wrong with it, so I let out my inner librarian and did some research for her.  Unfortunately, she really didn’t want to know and did nothing to clear up the disease.  Now it blooms beautifully in the spring and starts losing it’s leaves by the end of May.  My friend Susan tells me it is time for it to pass on, just like all living things it has come to the end of it’s time here.  Still I will be sad to see it go.

Today I will attempt to fix the floor in the master bathroom.  I have a good idea of how I want to approach this, though my approach is somewhat unconventional I’m pretty sure it will work!

About laughingwoman5

Love All, Trust Few, Do Wrong To None. An excellent idea to live by.
This entry was posted in Life musings, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

